Mardi Gras

Something really amazing I noticed since I moved to New York is that there is always something to celebrate or talk about. While Valentine’s Day seems like an eternity, today is Mardi Gras, and St Patrick’s Day is coming soon. I found it fascinating and so entertaining to always have something to celebrate. What a nice excuse to meet up with friends, hang out, and make some fun craft! Even though I remember precisely celebrating Mardi Gras in France when I was a little girl, it is one of the celebrations that I usually forget the most. In fact, I did not even realize this morning that today was Mardi Gras…

Then I quickly saw on social media one of my friend walking through Bourbon Street, surrounded by people with masks and pearl necklaces, dancing, and shouting. I remembered myself younger having so much fun putting costumes on and makeup, going to school and celebrate with all my friends…

Every Tuesday at 4 pm, Sid and I go to Scarsdale Library where they propose a free 30 min story time with activities for children from 2-5years old. I love the library which has a great children department, awesome librarians always willing to help and pick books that will interest your child, and an amazing outdoor area where you can play and run around when the weather allows it.

Scarsdale Library
Scarsdale Library

Today, instead of a craft, I would like to share with you a Mardi Gras book that I found in Scarsdale Library.

Mardi Gras Book
Mardi Gras Book
  • Let the Good Times Roll
  • Fat Tuesday
  • A French Carnival
  • The Krewers of New Orleans
  • “Throw Me Something Mister!”
  • Costumes and King Cakes
  • Carnival Around the World
  • If Ever I Cease to Love
  • Joining the Spirit of Mardi Gras
  • Making King Cakes
  • Making a Mardi Gras Necklace
  • Words to Know
  • How to Learn More about Mardi Gras
  • Index

Ann Heinrichs and Jan Bryan-Hunt did a great job illustrating and explaining Mardi Gras as a “crazy and colorful carnival” that occurs on the first day of Lent (the season before Easter). Mardi Gras (Fat Tuesday) is called that way because it is the last opportunity to eat a lot before giving up on certain things among the food.

Here are the lyrics from 1870 musical show Blue Beard that I particularly liked:

Lyrics from 1870 musical show Blue Beard
Lyrics from 1870 musical show Blue Beard

Definitely the right book to read tonight…I feel that Mardi Gras is really about having fun and gives to children and adults the opportunity to celebrate, party, and let the good times roll! I am already thinking about flying to New Orlean’s next year…

Leave a Reply

